FOR the first time, the Green CdeO Eagles Club swept the 2014 Fraternal Order of Eagles in Cagayan de Oro Inter-Club basketball tournament concluded here on Sunday at Barangay Bulua gym.

A double-whammy feat the wards of NMR-1 Governor Dondon Allorin and club president Conrado “Anjun” Gomez did at the expense of perennial championship rivals Opol Eagles in two age categories.

As the Green Eagles’ 35-below team scored an overkill (104-61) en route to completing a grandslam when Opol showed up minus its 1-2 punch Jayson Alfeche and Jerome Pagute and injured shooting guard Alvin Llavore, its 40-up counterpart weathered a strong Opol Eagles showing in the fourth and final quarter to prevail, 70-65.

“Busy naa tingali silay lain nga dula sa uban,” the Opol Eagles’ father figure Jerry Tamayo told Sun.Star Cagayan de Oro on the no-show of Alfeche and Pagute that quickly turned the 35-below finals into a one-sided match with Jun Daanoy , MVP Budie Tamparong and Wesley Daculiat scattering 23, 13 and 11 points each.

It was a different story, however, in the 40-up category ruled consistently in the past by the hard-fighting Opol Eagles as the Green CdeO dribblers had to fight for every ball position to finally break a long-drawn title-drought. And shattering an old “killjoy practice” was another new in the club’s repertoire when all players in sight were courageously used by playing coach Ulysses Romulo. And contribute the 15-man Green CdeO Eagles squad did on both ends of the floor.

“In retrospect, katorse (14) lang unta ang gamiton para naay makabalik sa dagko in the third quarter,” said the bull-strong 6-foot-3 center Rodelio “Loloy” Gelogo, Green’s logical answer to Rex Armojallas’ imminent threat in the middle.

Tata Bajao and this season’s civic MVP Waway Arocha combined for 18 points to give Green CdeO a 6-point lead in the first quarter. It bubbles to nine, 35-26 in the second frame with firefighter Jerwin Marcojos leading the charge, coming up with 10 markers.

The Opol Eagles outscored Green CdeO in the payoff period-- 14 to 7—but fell short to complete a fierce comeback.

Their real take was actually presented in the third quarter when Green CdeO had somewhat overlooked a mismatch in the pasarelle-type encounter with nothing left to turn on the bench but the undersized fivesome of James Abucejo, Agapito Mercado, Sgt. Pepper Ferrolino, Arnel Baba and Lynde Salgados.

“Gagmay kaayo nganong dili nato malatos,” the former national collegiate MVP Armojallas was overheard as saying.

This, after the tandem of Armojallas and reigning two-time MVP Eric Razalo was limited to just 9 points while Abucejo notched a huge 10 in the telling third quarter that ended with Green CdeO still holding an 11-point advantage.

“Actually, it’s weird to win this way but it’s sweet to be part of a championship win nga apil gyod `ta nagdula,” said an overjoyed Baba, one of the oldest guards in the league at 50-something.

“Who can disagree when it’s really team effort, especially team defense in third quarter that made us champion,” added erstwhile varsity standout Abucejo, survivor of two busted tendons on both legs.

The scores:

40-up semifinals

Green CdeO Eagles 85—Arocha 23, Abucejo 9, Gomez 8, Daitol 8, Mercado 7, Salgados 6, Miralles 6, Gelogo 5, Marcojos 4, Neri 2, Bajao 2, Ferrolino 2, Romulo 0, Baba 0.

Bulua Red Clay 77—Daing 34, 11, Noynay 11, Jarap 10, Merlas 6, Llamis 3, Maagad 2, Ibarra 0.

40-up championship

Green CdeO Eagles 70—Bajao 15, Marcojos 10, Abucejo 10, Arocha 8, Miralles 5, Daitol 4, Gomez 3, Ferrolino 3, Salgados 2, Mercado 2, Asil 2, Gelogo 1, Romulo 0, Neri 0, Baba 0.

Opol Eagles 65—Armojallas 10, Diango 8, Malicay 8, Razalo 7, Paguidopon 6, Alempoyo 5, Villaluz 4, Valdehueza 2, Utacan 2, Francisco 2, Salon 2, Recafort 0, Tamayo 0.

35-below championship

Green CdeO Eagles 104—Daanoy 23, Tamparong 13, Daculiat 11, Del Castillo 9, Calang 8, Magdugo 8, Munoz 6, Pahilan 4, Babiera 4, Tagarao 4, Besin 3, Arana 2, Lico 0.

Opol Eagles 61—Taban 9, Latosa 8, Aguilar 8, Abueme 6, Igtos 5, Bale 4, Albacete 4, Sogoc 3, Tenorio 2, Lugsanay 1, Amarga 0.