Sun.Star garners 3 of 5 Globe awards

media excellence awards. Globe Telecom senior vice president for corporate communication Yoly Crisanto (3rd from right) and director for external affairs Jocel de Guzman (extreme right), with Sun.Star winners in the 3rd Cebu Media Excellence Awards print category (from left) Arni Aclao as Photojournalist of the Year, Ruphil Bañoc as Columnist of the Year; and Rebelander Basilan, Davinci Maro and Jerome Delipe (and Cherry Ann Lim who is not in photo) for Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year at the awarding held last night at Cebu City Marriott Hotel. (SUN.STAR PHOTO/ALEX BADAYOS)

SUN.STAR Cebu and Sun.Star Superbalita garnered three of four awards in the print category in the 3rd Cebu Media Excellence Awards held last night.

Sun.Star Cebu journalists received the award for the Investigative Story of the Year for Print/Online while Sun.Star Cebu photographer Arni Aclao was named Photojournalist of the Year for his photo of the typhoon Yolanda aftermath in Madridejos town.

Lawyer and radio anchor Ruphil Bañoc won the Columnist of the Year Award for Sun. Star Superbalita column “Silot sa Pagpanapaw.”

Cherry Ann T. Lim, Sun.Star Cebu managing editor for special pages and features, and reporters Rebelander Basilan, Gerome Dalipe and Davinci Maru got the Investigative Story of the Year for Print award for their story “Cordova: Cybersex Capital?”

Basilan, who covers Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City and Cordova for Sun.Star Cebu, says he hopes that by writing about cyber pornography, he and his teammates can help get justice for the victims.

“Cyberporn is a serious issue that the government, the civil society and other sectors need to pay more attention to. Our report aims to enlighten the authorities and the public in general on the issue and get them into action,” the 23-year-old journalist

He dedicates the award to all the victims of cyber pornorgraphy, not only in Cordova, but around the world. “Doing the report is our own little way of helping them get justice. But justice may only truly be served if we’re able to stop this menace,” he said.

Other awardees this year are Cebu Daily News reporter Ador Mayol, who bagged the Reporter of the Year Award for Print for his four-part story on children with special needs.

In the broadcast category, Andrea Pateña of TV 5 won the Reporter of the Year Award for TV for her story “Kuwang sa Pangga.” She also bagged the Investigative Story of the Year Award for TV.

Astra Zina Logarta of Radio DyHP also got the Reporter of the Year Award for Radio for her story on the Alternative Learning System (ALS) for jail inmates.

Ruben Licera of won the Blogger of the Year and Social Media Advocate of the Year awards.

Now on its third year, Globe Telecom’s Cebu Media Excellence Award recognizes print, broadcast and digital media practitioners who have excelled in their respective fields.

The awarding ceremony was held at the Cebu City Marriott Hotel last night.
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!