Council to reopen hearing on terminal market anomalies

THE Iloilo City Council approved Tuesday the reopening of investigation on alleged anomalies at the Iloilo terminal market to further gather evidences and look after the second affidavit detailing the anomalous practice.

Councilor Rodel Fullon Agado, City Council chairman of the committee on markets and slaughterhouse, said the last hearing will be held Thursday afternoon, February 5, at the session hall to give time and opportunity for the 19 personnel of City Hall involved in the alleged anomalies.

In her second affidavit, accountable officer Emmalene Diana named the accountable and non-accountable officers who have direct knowledge in the issuance of accountable forms such as official receipts, cash tickets or arkabala and community tax certificate commonly known as cedula.

The accountable officers are permanent employees of the City Government and bonded by the City Treasurer’s Office in allowing employees to be liable for accountable forms.

The non-accountable officers are permanent but not bonded employees or job hires who can never be bonded by any branch of the local government.

However, several instances showed that non-accountable officers and job hires were issuing official receipts and arkabala especially during the time for collection of rental and light fees and which is contrary to law and illegal.

Diana, who was implicated in the alleged anomaly, said that she had entrusted her stub of official receipts to job hire Fedelyn Villabos, who issued a receipt to the stall rental of one Lilia Cordova, who has been delinquent for the past two years.

As office policy, current payments must not be accepted unless the delinquent account had been settled.

To be called by the council committee for the February 5 hearing and shed light on the system of issuing accountable forms are Louie Mesa, Jose Bernard Ycoy and Nancy Dieso, who are detailed from the city treasurer’s office; and Emmalene Diana and Marcel Ymalay, both from the local economic enterprise office.

The permanent employees but not bonded to issue accountable forms are Carlos Salvo Jr., Manuel Hufanda, Quirino Hojilla Jr., Myla Rey, Joma Jaleco, Josephine Vinegas, Benadette Jondonero, Rosemarie Lavado, and Delia Melanday.

The job hires are Josely Joven, Jonalyn Arcan, Andrew Cabardo, Jee-ar Pamuti, Deborah Bolongan, Allan Ray Flores, Nelson Sampiano, Marlon Rojo, Jessie Casalmer, and Fedelyn Villalobos.
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!