DON Bosco Technology Center (DBTC) and St. Theresa’s College (STC) came out as winners in the first day of the annual 6th SunStar Football Cup yesterday at the Cebu City Sports Center.

DBTC bagged the titles in the Mixed Under-11, Mixed Under-9 and Mixed Under-7 categories, while STC won the Girls Under-19 and Girls Under-17 divisions.

DBTC Makati thrashed Cebu International School (CIS), 7-1, in the Mixed Under-11 finals. DBTC Makati was perfect in the tournament with 12 points to lead Group 1. DBTC Makati squeaked past Ateneo de Cebu, 2-1, in the quarter finals and then won against Giuseppe FC, 2-0, in the semifinals. Czar Daanoy got the MVP plum.

DBTC Balamban won against Giuseppe FC, 1-0, for the Mixed Under-19 crown. DBTC also finished perfect in the tournament and topped its group with 12 points. It beat Xavier School, 3-1, in the quarterfinals and defeated sister squad DBTC Dumaguete, 2-0, in the semifinals before advancing to the finals. Bryle Hipolidon was named MVP.

DBTC Alabang snagged the Mixed Under-7 diadem with a 1-0 victory over KN Ferraren, with Alexander Rayo earning the MVP award.

DBTC ended up at the top of its group with nine points from a perfect 3-0-0 slate. DBTC Alabang beat DBTC Borongan, 1-0, in the semifinals.

St. Theresa’s College (STC), on the other hand, beat rival Magis Eagles, 1-0, for the Girls Under-19 crown. STC finished at the top of Group 1 with 12 points from a 4-0-0 slate and edged out Giuseppe FC, 4-3, via a penalty shootout.

The Magis Eagles were also impressive, finishing at the top of Group 2 with 12 points from a 4-0-0 record. Magis Eagles outclassed Balamban FC, 6-0, in the semifinals before suffering its lone defeat in the championship match. Myka Bourdain was named MVP.

STC A won the Girls Under-17 title with a 2-1 penalty shootout win over Magis Eagles.

It was a league type tournament, wherein the team with the most points went on to win the title. STC A and Magis Eagles were equal with 10 points each and had the same goal difference and goals scored. Both teams also settled to a 0-0 draw in their match. Thus the champion was determined via a penalty shootout. (EKA)