Thursday, April 25, 2019

SunStar Davao, Oro shine in GMEA 2017

SUNSTAR Davao and SunStar Cagayan de Oro bagged multiple awards at the recently concluded Globe Media Excellence Awards 2017 on Wednesday evening, November 22.

SunStar Davao editor-in-chief Stella Estremera bagged the Explanatory/Investigative Story for Print/Online Award for her story, "A Dream Realized: Poor children with cancer get better fighting chance."

SunStar Davao social media editor Ace June Rell Perez and Philippines Graphic's Henrylito Tacio were among the finalists for the Explanatory/Investigative Story for Print/Online Award.

SunStar Cagayan de Oro columnist Nef Luczon won the Columnist of the Year award for his story, "Environment, tourism, and Mt. Apo." Luczon also bagged the Social Media Advocate award for his "#ResponsibleCitizenJournalism, #MediaEthicsandEtiquette, #MediaLiteracy" and the Social Media Campaign Award for his "Disaster Response: CDO Flood Update Series".

Mindanao Bulletin's Ike Seneres and Edge Davao's Tacio were among the finalist for Columnist of the Year Award.

Zea Io Ming Capistrano was also named as finalist for Social Media Advocate award while Davao Eagle Online is a finalist for the Social Media Campaign Award.

The Reporter for Print award went to Lina Reyes of Mindanao Daily News for her story, "A Brave New School Without Walls". Former SunStar Davao editor Rhealyn Pojas and SunStar Davao defense beat reporter Juliet Revita were also named finalists for the award.

Manila Bulletin's Keith Bacongco was named Photojournalist of the Year for his "Back to sea" photo. Mindanao Daily Mirror's Arjoy Ceniza and SunStar Cagayan de Oro's Erwin Mascariñas were among the finalist for the award.

The Reporter for Radio went to Cherlyn Berana of 1575 Radyo ni Juan Northern Mindanao while Ann Quileste of Bombo Radyo and Jandiane Esteban of Home Radio News FM were named finalists.

Former DXGM Super Radyo 1125 reporter Big Jay Lagang was able to bag the Public Affairs Story for Radio for his "Martial Law: Marcos kaniadto, Duterte karon." Rose Bernales of DXRD Sonshine Radio and Annaliza Reyes of DXCC were also finalists for the award.

ABS-CBN's MJ Dayupay bagged the Reporter for Television award while Germaine Arenas of TV5 and PJ Dela Peña of ABS-CBN Northern Mindanao were finalists for the award.

Dela Peña was later awarded the Explanatory/Investigative Story for Television Award.

Abigail Macasampon of City Information Office/Byaheng Du30 and Jennifer Solis Brigada News TV were finalists for the award.

Reporter for Online News Portal went to Reyes for her story, "Girl leader advocates for children's rights". Finalists for this award were Estremera and Mascariñas for MIILS

Meanwhile the Blogger of the Year Award went to UJ Almocera for his story, "Community-Based Eco-Tourism (CBET): Empowering Communities Through Tourism." Finalists for the award were Dave Stephen Villamora and Leah de Castro.
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!