Sunday, September 15, 2019

Ex-chief justice to head charter review panel

PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte has tapped former chief justice Reynato Puno as chairperson of the consultative committee that will review the 1987 Constitution.

Malacañang on Thursday, January 25, released Puno's appointment paper signed by Duterte on Wednesday, January 24.

On December 7, 2016, the President signed Executive Order (EO) 10, which forms the consultative committee tasked to study, conduct consultations and review the provisions of the constitution.

Under EO 10, the consultative committee shall be composed of 25 members, including its chairperson.

The panel's creation was in line with Duterte's desire to change the country's form of government from the current unitary type to federal system.

Apart from Puno, Duterte also signed the appointment papers of 18 individuals who were named members of the committee.

New members are former senator Aquilino Pimentel Jr.; former Associate Justices Bienvenido Reyes and Antonio Eduardo Nachura; political analyst Julio Teehankee; political science professor Edmund Tayao; former lawmakers Ali Pangalian Balindong and Laurence Wacnang; former bar topnotcher Victor dela Serna, and law expert Fr. Ranhilio Aquino.

Other members include Davao Regional State Prosecutor Antonio Arellano; former Mindanao State University Tawi-Tawi chancellor Eddie Alih; lawyers Rodolfo Robles, Roan Libarios, Reuben Canoy, Susan Ubalde-Ordinario, and Randolph Parcasio; Virgilio Bautista; and Arthur Aguilar.

The President is yet to appoint six other members of the consultative committee. (SunStar Philippines)
style="display:block; text-align:center;"

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!