THE 18th Iyas La Salle National Writers’ Workshop is open for applications.

This year, it will be held on April 15–21 at the Balay Kalinungan, University of St. La Salle, Bacolod City.

IYAS is supported by the University of St. La Salle (USLS), DLSU Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center (BNSCWC), the National Commission on Culture and the Arts (NCCA), and the Institute for Climate and Sustainable Cities (ICSC).

The workshop director is Marjorie Evasco.

The panel is composed of Ronald Baytan, Grace Monte de Ramos, John Iremil Teodoro, Susan Lara, and Em Mendez.

RayBoy Pandan, Iyas project coordinator, will also serve as one of the panelists.

The workshop fellowship screening committee accepts creative work in Hiligaynon, Cebuano, Filipino and English.

Fellowships are awarded by genre and by language.

Creative writing entries that explore human relations with the environment will be given preference for these fellowships.

Fifteen applicants will be chosen for the fellowships, which will include transportation subsidy and board and lodging.

Application requirements are original, unpublished work in only one chosen literary genre and language: six poems, two short stories, or two one-act plays; works must be in three computer-encoded hard copies, font size 12 points, double-spaced; and a short resume, with a page containing applicant’s ID photo, and complete contact information (residence address, email address, contact number).