SIXTEEN lovely beauties coming from different municipalities are vying for the 2018 Miss Sibugay crown.

The pageant is one of the highlights in the 17th founding anniversary of the province of Zamboanga Sibugay on February 24.

Dr. Sherwin Bastero, committee chairperson for 2018 Miss Sibugay Pageant, said the candidates for Miss Sibugay represents the various local government units and private sectors in this province.

The candidates are Stephanie Samson of Siay town; Lindsay Nicole Fabian (Imelda town); Krisabelle Aragona (Ipil); Hera Novemay Macalisang (Talusan); Nanely Ejas (Tungawan); Halimatu Yushawu (Titay); Steffany Bazar (Mabuhay); Riza Jane Enriquez (Diplahan); Jayzel Grace delos Reyes (Payao); Joanna Krystel Cabrezos (R.T. Lim); Reikalen Joy Ishii (Alicia); and Dona Lynne Pidor (Buug).

Four of the 16 towns of Zamboanga Sibjugay do not have representative to this year’s pageant. These are the towns of Kabasalan, Malangas, Naga, and Olutanga.

Also vying for the title of 2018 Miss Sibugay are Princess Rizza Bartolome, Rylle Production Events Team; Princess Serdenia, contractor’s association; Ashley Nicol Epo, private sector; and Danah Stephanie Delgado, lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT).

The grand coronation night of the 2018 Miss Sibugay is on February 24, the day Zamboanga Siguay has become the country’s 79th province pursuant to Republic Act No. 8973 signed by then President Gloria Macagapal-Arroyo.

Zamboanga Sibugay Governor Wilter Yap Palma said the search for Miss Sibugay will showcase the importance of the cultural heritage and a platform for youth development of the province.

The province of Zamboanga Sibugay, which comprises of 16 towns, has a population of 633,129 mostly speaking Cebuano, Zamboangueño, Subanen, Tausug, and Tagalog.

Zamboanga Sibugay is further subdivided into 390 villages and two congressional districts.