THE University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication (UP CMC) is now accepting nominations for the annual UP Gawad Plaridel, which recognizes Filipino media practitioners who have excelled in any of the media (print, radio, film, television, and new/emerging media) and have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public service.

For 2018, the 14th UP Gawad Plaridel will be given to an outstanding journalist.

The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar, the selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper, La Solidaridad.

Eligible for the awards are all living Filipino individuals who have excelled in the field of journalism.

Aside from probity and integrity, these media practitioners must have produced a body of work that is marked by excellence and social relevance, and must have achievements recognized nationally and/or internationally.

Individuals and institutions may nominate potential recipients. Institutions include media corporations, professional media associations, media advocacy groups, educational institutions, cultural foundations, and NGOs. Previous nominees may still be considered for this year’s award.

All current full-time faculty and staff of the UP CMC are disqualified from the nomination.

The deadline for submission of nominations is on April 6, 2018, 5 p.m.; announcement of recipient is in May 2018.

The UP Gawad Plaridel will be given in August in commemoration of del Pilar’s birth anniversary.

Nomination form and award guidelines are available at the UP CMC Website (

Interested parties may call (02) 981-8500 local 2668, or email for further inquiries.