Thursday, July 18, 2019

Bacolod’s top radio personalities, programs feted

SEVEN outstanding radio personalities and three radio programs were honored by the City of Bacolod, in partnership with the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP)-Negros Occidental Chapter, during the “Tingog kag Handurawan Awards” at SMX Convention Center to celebrate the 4th World Radio Day in Bacolod last week.

The awards night was the highlight of this year’s World Radio Day celebration in the city themed “Bacolod City @ 80: Celebrating the Power of Radio.”

The awardees were: Rex Cantong (Aksyon Radyo) – Best Anchorman of the Year; Jaz de Jesus Madrigal (Bombo Radyo) – Best Radio Host of the Year;
Jemlo Victosa (RMN-DYHB) – Best Reporter of the Year; Joemarie Regalado (Bombo Radyo) – Best Male Drama Talent of the Year; Elna Dela Cruz (RMN- DYHB) – Best Female Drama Talent of the Year; Gerard Andrade (RMN- DYHB) – Office Administration and Management; and Ranel Bagonoc (RMN – DYHB) – Technical and Engineering.

Also awarded were “Ini ang Akon Problema” – Best Radio Drama of the Year; “Maria Labo, Aswang,” (a character created by Rey Alejandrino of then Radyo Agong) – Icon of Radio (Negros Occidental); and “Ini ang Akon Kabuhi” (Bombo Radyo) – Special Citation for Drama.

Mayor Evelio Leonardia and former KBP-Negros Occidental Chapter chairman Serafin “Jopy” Plotria Jr. led the giving of awards.

Leonardia said, “I believe that one of the compelling reasons why we have to celebrate the World Radio Day is because, even with the advent of social media, it cannot be denied that radio has played a big, big role in our day-to-day lives and in our developments not just as a city but as a society.”

Leonardia also administered the oath of the new set of officers of KBP- Negros Occidental.

The officers are: Fr. Jonas Sumagaysay – chairman; Clifford Nolido – vice chairman; Nona Magbanua – secretary; Paul Moles – treasurer; Loel Katalbas – auditor; Standard Performance Officers – Serafin “Jopy” Plotria Jr., Ferdinand Tan, and Edgar Lucasan; Board of Directors – Francis Muñoz, Jerry Mayordo, Divine Grace Cuello, Jeony Bigay, Grace Visitacion, Mary Ann Flores and Edmund Garingana.

Before the Awards Night, both AM and FM radio stations in Bacolod held a motorcade around downtown Bacolod on February 19.
After the motorcade, they opened the World Radio Day Exhibit at SM
City Bacolod, where the one-week exhibit was displayed at the Northwest Bridgeway Lobby.

Leonardia issued Executive Order No. 4 in January this year constituting the committee for the World Radio Day celebration in Bacolod, with Danny Dangcalan, acting head of the City Public Information Office, as the overall chairman.

This year’s theme highlights the indispensable role of radio in the development of Bacolod through the years, with added significance as the city marks its 80th year of cityhood this year, Dangcalan said.

The World Radio Day celebration in Bacolod started in 2015 after the passage of City Ordinance 08-14-792, Series of 2014, authored by then councilor Alex Paglumotan. (PR)
style="display:block; text-align:center;"

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!