SPTJI Savers stuns CIT-U to win Alberto’s Pizza Bowling

THE SPTJJ Savers played their best game in the final round to stun their closest foe, the Cebu Institute Technological-University (CIT-U), and win the Alberto’s Pizza 10th Anniversary Bowling Invitational Tournament at the SM City Cebu Bowling Center last Friday.

The Savers, composed of Sonia Gakenholz, Pepe delos Reyes, Tony Torres, Jefferson Tan, Jerry Davis and Joe Chu, scored 2,557 to end the 12-game tournament with a total score of 10,082 and beat CIT-U by 10 points.

The leader for the first three rounds, CIT-U settled for second place after scoring 2,538 in the final round for a total of 10,072.

The SPTJJ Savers came from fourth place after the first round, then climbed to second place after the second round and stayed within striking distance of CIT-U, down by 29 points going to the fourth and final round.

The SPTJJ Savers bagged the P20,000 cash prize and trophy while CIT-U won P15,000 and trophy.

Electromearg took third place with a score of 9,727, Cebu Tenpin Bowling Association (Cetba) Five Star placed fourth with 9,672 and Rich Catsup had 9,649 to round up the Top 5 teams.

The SPTJJ Savers also scored the highest team single score of 905 for the final round, while Jake Yap (235) of E.O Bucoy Consultants and Gretchen Tormis (186) of CIT-U bagged men’s and women’s highest individual scorers award. (RSC)
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!