Monday, September 20, 2021

CA Cebu welcomes new justices

THE Court of Appeals Cebu Station has three new magistrates.

Associate Justices Pablito A. Perez, Geraldine Fiel-Macaraig and Gabriel T. Robeniol assumed their posts at the CA Cebu last Dec. 7.

Perez will sit as senior member of CA Cebu’s 20th Division, while Fiel-Macaraig and Justice Robeniol will sit as junior members of the 19th Division and 20th Division, respectively.

Executive Justice Gabriel T. Ingles welcomed his new colleagues to the appeals court.

“I am certain they can help render swift and impartial justice for all so we can fulfill our vision to be a highly credible court,” said Ingles.

Prior to his appointment to CA Cebu last March 13, 2014, Justice Perez served at the CA Mindanao Station in Cagayan de Oro City.

Before becoming a jurist, Perez has been a law professor and dean, a private law practitioner, and general counsel and head of a corporate law department for over 30 years.

Perez finished his AB in Philosophy at the Ateneo de Manila University, cum laude, and his Bachelor of Laws degree from San Beda College as valedictorian.

He holds a Master of Laws Degree from the University of Pennsylvania in the US.

Jutice Fiel-Macaraig is a recipient of the Chief Justice Jose Abad Santos Award for judicial excellence during her tenure as presiding judge of the Regional Trial Court Branch 192 in Marikina City.


Justice Fiel-Macaraig, of Ormoc City, served as vice executive judge of Marikina City and was eventually chosen as executive judge for two terms from 2007-2011.

Justice Robeniol graduated magna cum laude with a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Santo Tomas.

He obtained his degree in Bachelor of Arts in Economics from the same university. Justice Robeniol is a member of the UST Faculty of Civil Law.

Justice Robeniol was a partner at Feria Tantoco Robeniol Law Offices where he headed the litigation and intellectual property section. He is a former associate solicitor at the Office of the Solicitor General. 

In 2011, the three divisions of the CA Visayas station had a combined case load of 8,423 cases.

As of November 2015, the number of pending cases had been significantly reduced to 3,862.

The CA Visayas Station is composed of three divisions. The 18th Division is headed by Executive Justice Ingles as chairman and Justice Marilyn Lagura-Yap as and Justice Germano Francisco D. Legaspi, who are junior members. 

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!