Monday, April 22, 2019

Nominations open for UP Gawad Plaridel

THE University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication (UP CMC) announced it is now accepting nominations for the annual UP Gawad Plaridel, which recognizes Filipino media practitioners who excelled in any of the media (print, radio, film, television, and new media) and have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public service.

For 2016, the 12th UP Gawad Plaridel will be given to an outstanding radio practitioner.

The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (nom de plume, Plaridel), the selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper La Solidaridad helped crystallize nationalist sentiments and ignite libertarian ideas in the 1890s.

Like Plaridel, the recipient must believe in the vision of a Philippine society that is egalitarian, participative and progressive; and in media that are socially responsible, critical and vigilant, liberative and transformative, and free and independent.

Eligible for the awards are all living Filipino individuals who have excelled in the field of radio as producer, director, scriptwriter, announcer, voice actor, sound designer, sound technician, reporter, commentator, etc.

Aside from their probity and integrity, these media practitioners must have produced a body of work that is marked by excellence and social relevance and must have achievements recognized nationally and/or internationally.

Individuals and institutions may nominate potential recipients. Institutions include media corporations, professional media associations, media advocacy groups, educational institutions, cultural foundations and non-government organizations.

Previous nominees may still be considered for this year’s award. All current full-time faculty and staff of the UP CMC are disqualified from the nomination.

The deadline for submission of nominations is at 5 p.m. on March 1, 2016.

The recipient of the UP Gawad Plaridel 2016 will be announced in April 2016.

The UP Gawad Plaridel will be given in August in commemoration of del Pilar’s birth anniversary. The awardee will receive the UP Gawad Plaridel trophy (designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva) and will deliver the Plaridel lecture addressing issues relevant to the state and practice of Philippine media. The recipient will have a place of honor at all ceremonies and functions of the college.

The recipient’s portrait will be hung at the UP Gawad Plaridel Gallery located at the college lobby (Plaridel Hall, UP Diliman).

Nomination forms and award guidelines are available at the UP CMC website:, and at the UP CMC Office of Extension and External Relations.

Interested parties may call (02) 981-8500 local 2668 for further inquiries.

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!