THE race for Provincial Board member in Cebu is a battle that is likely to be won by a mix of independent and candidates allied with local and national political parties, based on results of the last online survey conducted by Sun.Star Publishing Inc.

In the sixth district of Cebu, where 79.55 percent of the total 5,095 survey respondents are based, Jonkie Ouano of One Cebu has higher chances of winning the election after his father, the late Provincial Board Member Teddy Ouano, got 79.62 percent of votes.

Jonkie assumed the candidacy of his father, who was laid to rest in March this year.

In second place was Victor Maambong of PDP-Laban who got 73.94 percent of votes, followed by Glenn Bercede and Oyos Alegado of Liberal Party (LP) who got 18.06 percent and 14.51 percent, respectively.

In the first district, topping the list of candidates are Raul Bacaltos, an independent, who got 35.29 percent, followed by Cesar Albor (One Cebu) with 31.6 percent, and Yoly Daan with 23.9 percent and Ramon Alcoseba with 22.1 percent, both of LP. The other candidates only got not more than 15 percent of votes.

Another independent candidate got the highest preference percentage vote in the second district race, with 46.2 percent went to Edsel Galeos. Second was Andrade Alcantara of One Cebu with 33.3 percent, followed by Raymond Calderon (LP) with 29.5 percent and Cary Kintanar (One Cebu with 28.8 percent).

The third district race also had two independent candidates in the first and second place: Alex Binghay (51.55 percent) and Tata Corominas (46.72 percent). Third was Ben Gonzales of One Cebu with 32.12 percent, and fourth was Tonton Yapha of LP with 21.17 percent.

The fourth district race had candidates of LP and National Unity Party (NUP) competing for the top posts. Top 4 were Joeyboy Holganza of LP (48.80 percent), Sun Shimura of NUP (43.20 percent), Raci Franco of LP (39.20 percent), and Chad Canares of NUP (27.20 percent).

Bakud candidates, meantime, dominated the fifth district race, with Jude Durano Sybico and Migs Magpale having 40 percent and 37.50 percent of votes, respectively. One Cebu candidates Alfie Pepito (33.33 percent) and Recto De Dios (30 percent) were in third and fourth.

In the seventh district, top 1 was Fema Duterte of One Cebu with 44.09 percent, followed by Dong Baricuatro with 36.56 percent, Bador Saromines (One Cebu) with 33.33 percent, Jerome Librando (LP) with 30.11 percent, and Godofredo Lucero Jr. (independent) with 12.90 percent.

Aside from the Cebu provincial board member position, respondents of Sun.Star’s survey were also pooled as to whom they would support for Mandaue, Talisay, and Lapu-Lapu City councilors.

One Cebu candidates dominated the race in Mandaue City, while Nacionalista Party (NP) members got the highest percentage of votes in Talisay City.

Top 8 candidates in Mandaue City are: Erwin Rommel Heyrosa (53.39 percent), Ben Basiga (52.15 percent), Malcolm Sanchez (50.71 percent), Cesar Cabahug (47.07 percent), Elmer Cabahug (47.02 percent), Copoy Villanueva (46.18 percent), Maria Editha Montesa (46.13 percent), and George Mendoza (44.80 percent).

Antonio Bacaltos Jr., Alfredo Sipalay, and Soc Fernandez tied for the top spot in the Talisay City councilors race with 33.33 percent each, followed by Richard Francis Aznar and Teban Daan, both had 20.33 percent.

The other three candidates in top 8 were Arturo Bas (25.33 percent), Rodi Cabigas (20.67 percent), and Balo Belleza (20.67 percent).

For Lapu-Lapu City, the candidates in top 8 were: Ernesto Tumulak (34.58 percent); Ricardo Amores (32.71 percent); Nelson Yap, Rufo Bering, Maria Fe Imbong, and JV Dela Serna, with 30.84 percent each; and Tino Aying and Ferdinand Dungog, with 28.04 percent each.

Respondents of the Sun.Star survey were pooled on from April 25 to 29. The results were based on the answers provided by respondents whose internet protocol (IP) addresses were recorded by Survey Monkey, an online survey development cloud-based company. (Sunnex)