FOUR Garcias won in various positions in the city and province of Cebu despite the defeat of the other members of the clan.

Those victorious were re-elected Representative Gwen Garcia (Cebu third district); her daughter Cristina Garcia-Frasco, who won as Liloan town mayor; her brother Marlon Garcia, who won as Barili town mayor; and lawyer Raymond Garcia who won as Cebu City councilor.

Those who lost were Winston Garcia (for governor), Pablo John Garcia (Cebu seventh district), Dumanjug Mayor Nelson Garcia, and congressional candidate Alvin Garcia.

View the latest partial and unofficial tally

The provincial canvassing for the gubernatorial post as of 4 p.m. Tuesday is ongoing.

Dumanjug's reelectionist mayor Nelson conceded earlier and congratulated Vice Mayor Efren "Gungun" Gica but blamed police for tolerating vote-buying and terrorism in the area.

A day before Monday's May 9 polls, a shooting incident took place in Dumanjog.

Police subsequently relieved the town police chief as investigation continues.

Five vote counting machines (VCM) in Dumanjog bogged down during Monday's election but was immediately replaced.

Gica earned 15,577 votes while Garcia got 10,631 votes. (EOB/OCP of Sun.Star Cebu/Sunnex)