Friday, September 24, 2021

Longtime Mabalacat City mayor reelected

MABALACAT CITY -- Longtime mayor Marino Morales was reelected for his last term defeating his three opponents in this city’s mayoralty race.

Morales, the longest seating mayor in Pampanga with 21 years, defeated outgoing first district Board Member Crisostomo Garbo, former vice mayor Noel Castro and businesswoman Pyra Lucas.

Out of the 78,758 actual votes, Morales garnered 40,174 while his closest contender, Garbo, got 17,710.

The other candidates Castro and Lucas obtained 10,788 and 5,807 votes respectively.

The city’s newly elected councilors include Gerald Aquino, Rox Pena, Dwight Morales, Eddie Sotto, Amauri “Bok” Tiglao, Rogelio Yumul, Carlo Rivera, Jerry Basilio, Dan Bayani and Krizzanel Garbo.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) proclaimed Morales, unopposed Vice Mayor Christian Halili and the other winning candidates shortly after midnight yesterday.

Morales vowed to continue his programs particularly on peace and order, employment and livelihood, tourism, environmental protection, and others.

The mayor thanked his constituents for supporting his administration and asked his political rivals to unite for the benefit of the city and its people.

“The people had spoken. Vox populi, vox dei (The voice of the people is the voice of God),” Morales said.

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!