720 athletes join Cebu Provincial Summer Games

AROUND 720 athletes from different cities and municipalities of Cebu will suit up for the Cebu Provincial Summer Games 2016 today at the Balamban Cultural Center.

The sporting event, which is open to athletes 15 years old and under, is part of the province-wide grassroots sports development program by the Cebu Provincial Sports Commission (CPSC).

The participating local government units are Talisay City, Minglanilla, City of Naga, Argao, Oslob, Dumanjug, Barili, Aloguinsan, Balamban, Asturias, Tuburan, Bantayan, Sogod Catmon, Carmen, Compostela, Lilo-an, Cordova, Danao City and Mandaue City.

There are 13 events in the meet--athletics, badminton, baseball, boxing, futsal, chess, karatedo, lawn tennis, softball, table tennis, taekwondo and volleyball.

Competitions in taekwondo, karatedo and baseball events are done since it was held in advance, while the rest of the events will be played after the opening ceremony today.

The meet is a flagship project for CPSC and aims to develop the skills of the kids and enhance the potential of both athletes and coaches. The stand out athletes of this event will be pooled to represent Province of Cebu in the regional and national athletic competitions.

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!