46 Cebu City brgys fail to beat vehicle deadline

ONLY 34 out of the 80 barangays in Cebu City turned over their City Government-issued vehicles when the deadline given by Acting Mayor Margarita “Margot” Osmeña for them to do so lapsed yesterday.

Forty-six barangays are yet to return their vehicles.

This prompted Osmeña to remind again the barangay officials that they don’t own the vehicles. These belong to the City Government.

“I will have to check with my lawyers,” she added when asked what she will do to those who failed to return their vehicles a week after she ordered the recall.

Osmeña directed the General Services Office (GSO) to immediately submit to her the list of those who returned their vehicles and those who failed to do so.

The acting mayor said she has no plans of extending the one week period she gave to all department heads, employees and barangay officials to return their issued vehicles.

“One week is enough. I think that is reasonable,” she said.

Osmeña urged Association of Barangay Council chief and Tisa Barangay Captain Philip Zafra to talk to her if he or his group has concerns on the recall of the barangay vehicles.

As of yesterday, she said she has not yet received any letter from Zafra.

“He doesn’t have to write. He can come. It’s easier, it’s faster. We know each other. We are classmates in the City Council,” she said.

Zafra earlier questioned the recall order of Osmeña, saying it will paralyze the operations and the delivery of services of the barangays.

In a separate interview yesterday, Ronald Malacora, who has been appointed by Osmeña as her special assistant to GSO, said he did not know why the other barangays failed to return the vehicles.

Those who have so far returned their vehicles are Barangays Bonbon, Binaliw, Bulacao, San Nicolas Proper, Cogon Pardo, Sirao, Lusaran, Malubog, Day-as, Duljo Fatima, Taptap, Quiot, Sawang Calero, Banilad, Kasambagan, Pasil, San Roque, Talamban and Hipodromo.

It also include Barangays Bacayan, Guadalupe, Mabini, Paril, Pahina San Nicolas, Buhisan, Mabolo, Pit-os, Zapatera, Kalunasan, Suba, Pari-an, Adlaon, Tabunan and San Jose.

As for the 21 City Hall department heads, Malacora said all of them was able to comply with Osmeña’s order.

Based on their records, there are 238 vehicles and 85 motorcycles that were turned over to the GSO.

That, when they were anticipating around 550 vehicles and motorcycles both from the City and the barangays that are supposed to be turned over.

The recall of all the City-issued vehicles were the first memorandum issued by Osmeña when she assumed as acting mayor last week following the suspension of Mayor Michael Rama, Vice Mayor Edgardo Labella and 12 councilors.

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!