Monday, August 19, 2019

Duterte bares more Cabinet members

PRESIDENT-ELECT Rodrigo Duterte, on Tuesday, May 31, presented more prospective Cabinet members at Presidential Guesthouse inside the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Depot in Panacan, Davao City.

The list had familiar names as some have worked in Davao Region or has had dealings with the region, Duterte based his choices both on the track record and on his personal knowledge of how the members work. Several of them have served the Davao City Police Office.

Duterte assured the public that his Cabinet members are persons of integrity and honesty.

Announced by incoming Presidential Spokesperson lawyer Salvador Panelo, the following are the key officials that will make up Duterte’s confidential staff: Department of Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi, former Manila International Airport Authority manager and vice chairman of Partido Demokratiko Pilipino Secretary Lakas ng Bayan, Duterte’s political party, Department of Finance Secretary business magnate Carlos Dominguez, Secretary associate and grade school classmate of Duterte who has served in the past as Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Department of Transportation and Communication Secretary lawyer Arthur Tugade, former Chief Executive Officer and the President at Clark Development Corp. and rags to riches Founder of Perry's Holding Corporation, Duterte’s classmate in law school and their top graduate, National Economic Development Authority Secretary Ernesto Pernia, professor emeritus of the University of the Philippines in Diliman School of Economics and PhD holder from the University of California.

National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council Secretary Brigadier General Ricardo Jalad, who headed the Fifth Infantry Division; Bureau of Immigration Secretary retired Police Director Jaime Morente, who served as Davao City Police Office chief.

Department of Agrarian Reform Secretary Kilusang Magbubukid ng Pilipinas chair Rafael Mariano, Department of Budget and Management Secretary Professor Benjamin Diokno, who already served as DMB Secretary during the time of President Joseph Estrada and is an Economic Professor at the UP School of Economics.

Department of Agriculture Secretary former North Cotabato Governor Emmanuel Pinol, Department of Justice Secretary lawyer Vitaliano Aguirre, Managing Partner at Aguirre & Aguirre Law Firm, Office of the President for Peace Process, former Mindanao Development Authority Secretary and government peace negotiator for the GRP-MILF talks lawyer Jesus G. Dureza.

Department of Labor and Employment Secretary Silvestre Bello III, former Justice Secretary and Davao City Congressman; National Security Adviser – Retired Armed Forces of the Philippines Chief of Staff Hermogenes Esperon Jr., Secretary to the Cabinet – outgoing Maribojoc Mayor and former Davao City official Leoncio P. Evasco Jr., Executive Secretary – lawyer Salvador C. Medialdea of the Medialdea Ata Bello Guevarra Suarez Law Firm.

Department of Public Works and Highways Secretary Former Representative Mark Villar, Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency Secretary retired Chief Superintendent Isidro Lapena, former Davao City Police Office chief; Presidential Assistant for Visayas – Cebu businessman Mike Dino.

Department of Interior and Local Government Secretary Ismael Sueno, former South Cotbato governor, Department of Interior and Local Government Undersecretary retired Police Director Catalino Cuy, who also served as Davao City Police Office chief; Department of Education Secretary Leonor Briones, Professor Emeritus of Public Administration at the National College of Public Administration and Governance of UP Diliman.

Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board Chief Secretary Davao City private lawyer Martin Delgra, National Bureau of Investigation Secretary Dante Gierran, who served as Regional Director of NBI Secretary Davao Region; Solicitor General lawyer Jose Calida, former Justice Undersecretary during the Arroyo Administration and brother of former Davao Metropolitan Police Command chief Colonel Franco Calida, who later became mayor of Hagonoy in Davao del Sur.

Department of National Defense Secretary Retired Major General Delfin Lorenzana, the former Special Presidential Representative for Veterans Affairs/Head of the Office Veterans Affairs of the Philippine Embassy in Washington DC.

Department of Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato Dela Pena, DOST Undersecretary for S&T Services who chaired the 15th Session of the prestigious UN Commission on Science and Technology for Development (UNCSTD) in 2011.

Department of Social Welfare and Development Secretary Dr. Judy Taguiwalo of the Women and Development Studies of the UP Diliman College of Social Works and Community Development, and Philippine National Police (PNP) head Chief Superintendent Ronald dela Rosa, who also served as DCPO chief. Department of Foreign Affairs Secretary Perfecto R. Yasay Jr., former chairman of the Philippines' Securities and Exchange Commission

Duterte arrived on board a helicopter at around 5 p.m., three hours later than the announced 2 p.m. meeting with his choices for the Cabinet.

style="display:block; text-align:center;"

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!