8 teams to compete at 18th Acosta Cup

8 teams to compete at 18th Acosta Cup
Photo credit to Acosta Cup

EIGHT teams composed of female players are set to compete in 18th Acosta Cup on Saturday, November 11, at the University of the Philippines-Mindanao (UP-Min) football field.

The cup will be participated by eight teams: the Davao City National High School (DCNHS), Red Eagles, Lasang Football Club, DDS Perm, Holy Cross of Davao College (HCDC), JT’s Manukan CR7 Foodtruck, RMC-Solido, and Football Club Nabunturan.

Stella Acosta, Organizer and Chief of Staff of the Office of Councilor Luna S. Acosta, said during the Kapihan sa Davao, Monday morning, October 23, at SM Ecoland, that the 18th edition of the Acosta will run from November 11 to December 10.

It will have its opening ceremony on November 11, at 3 p.m. and will be held at the football field of UP-Min in Tugbok District, Davao City. 

“We have to support these kinds of empowerment diba [right], overuse na nga [it is an overused] word but it's true that we have to empower our women and girls to play better in sports, to have a tournament to join in, to be together with their team and that multiplies camaraderie sa [in the] community,” Stella said. 

The organizer added that several football clubs that participated in the Acosta Cup have made it to national tournaments. She said that before becoming a well-known tournament in Davao, the Cup used to be a football clinic for women interested in this sport. 

The winners will receive trophies and medals for the teams special awards would also be given such as the Milo Grit Award, Cong. Paolo Duterte MVP Award, the MSA Award for Outstanding Sportsmanship, and the Mayor Baste Award for Excellence in Teamwork. 

She added that this is a joint venture between the private and public sector to provide an avenue for women to develop an enthusiasm for football. RGP


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.