House approves bills on new courts

THE House of Representatives on Wednesday, May 6, approved on third and final reading eight bills seeking to establish a total of 24 new Regional Trial Court (RTC) branches nationwide.

House Bills (HB) 6323, 6324, 6325, 6326, 6327, 6328, 6329, and 6330 were approved with 210 affirmative votes, zero negative vote, and zero abstention.

Under the said bills, there will be eight additional branches in Caloocan City; two in Daet and Labo, Camarines Norte; one in La Paz, Abra; one in Moalboal, Cebu; two in Zamboanga del Norte; one in Victorias, Negros Occidental; four in San Juan, Batangas; and five in Kabankalan, Negros Occidental.

As of Wednesday, the Philippines has over 952 trial court branches.

Under the Batas Pambansa Blg. 129 or the Judicial Reorganization Act of 1980, every province and city in the country must have an RTC branch. (Jove T. Moya/SunStar Philippines)


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.