5 Cebuanos in PH team

FIVE Cebuano booters will join the 15-Under squad of Global FC that will represent the country against Malaysia in the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) - Frenz U-15 Asean Champions trophy as in the game opener today at 6 p.m. at the Cebu City Sports Center.

Moiselle Angelo Alforque, Majordean Ebarle, Vincent Erik Lovitos, Kintaro Miyagi and Lorenzo Ceniza were picked up to join the team.

The core of the lineup is made up of the Little Azkals, the former members of the Philippine 14-Under team. Most of them played together in the AFF U-14 Festival of Football.

The other players in the team are John William Abraham, Marco Casambre, Harel Dela Costa Dayan, Josh Miller, Ray Vincent Sanciangco and Jolo Cadiz of Manila and Troy Limbo, who just moved from Cagayan de Oro.

Those from Mindanao are Jeremiah Borlongan, Sebastian Rafael Benedict Patangan, Darius Joseph Diamante and Javi Romero Salas. Others in the list are Christian Floren Lapas of Bayawan, Negros Oriental, Mark Winhofer and two non-Little Azkals keeper.

Former men’s national team member Anto Gonzales will be the head coach of the team, which will still have a tryout on Sunday to add more players for the squad in the four-month long tournament among 11 members of the Asean Football Federation.

The champion in the tournament will get $50,000, while the runner-up gets $25,000. The third placer wins $10,000, while fourth placer goes home with $5,000.

There will also be special awards like Fair Play, Golden Boot and Most Valuable Player awards. The Golden Boot and MVP winners will get $2,500.

The tournament will use a double-round robin format and will be held every weekend until September. The teams in Group B are Frenz Indonesia, Myanmar Mandalay Academy, Lao Toyota Academy and Brunei U-15. The top two will advance to the finals.

Spectators who will watch the game will still have to pay the entrance fee to the sports center.


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.