More PPE, medical supplies shipped to Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi

Contributed photo
Contributed photo

THE Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (Barmm) has delivered personal protective equipment (PPE) and medical supplies on Thursday, April 9, to its island provinces of Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi (BaSulTa).

Barmm Cabinet Secretary and Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on Covid-19 spokesperson Mohammad Asnin Pendatun said Barmm has procured hundreds of PPEs and medical supplies to support the health care and frontliners in the three island provinces in the fight against coronavirus disease (Covid-19).

Pendatun said the supplies, packed by the Barmm IATF on Covid-19 and Rapid Emergency Action on Disaster Incidence (Readi-Barmm) workforce, were transported aboard vessels of the Naval Forces Western Mindanao to the referral hospitals and health offices in the BaSulTa areas.

He said the supplies include PPE such as hazmat suits, surgical and N95 masks, gloves; and other medical supplies such as gallons of alcohol, isolation gowns, disinfection solution, thermal scanners, and medicines.

Recently, Barmm has augmented the PPEs and medical supplies in the three Covid-19 referral hospitals in the region such as Cotabato Sanitarium Hospital in Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao; Cotabato Regional and Medical Center, Cotabato City; and the Amai PakPak Medical Center, Marawi City.

Dr. Saffrullah Dipatuan, Barmm's Minister of Health, has also turned over medical supplies and equipment to the Integrated Provincial Health Office (IPHO), Rural Health Units (RHUs), and district hospitals in Lanao del Sur.

The health ministry has also allocated additional P20,000 to all RHUs monthly Maintenance and Other Operating Expenses (MOOE) to maximize its crucial role in combating Covid-19 in the region.

Meanwhile, lawyer Naguib Sinarimbo, Barmm's Interior and Local Government minister and concurrent head of the Readi-Barmm, said they have started releasing the additional P155 million to the local government units’ (LGUs) quick response funds.

Sinarimbo said each of the Barmm's five provinces -- Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi -- will receive P5 million.

Barmm's three cities -- Cotabato, Marawi and Lamitan -- will receive P2 million each, while its 116 municipalities will receive P1 million each.

The 63 villages in North Cotabato will receive a total of P8 million.

“This is an initiative from the Office of the Chief Minister to intensify the LGUs’ efforts in containing the spread of Covid-19,” Sinarimbo said. (SunStar Philippines)


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.